Governor’s innovation awards honor members of bioscience community

December 12, 2006

By hammersmith

Several members of the bioscience industry were among the innovators honored in the fourth-annual Governor’s Celebration of Innovation.

The event, which attracted 1,200 people, honored Innovators of the Year and those who work to diversify the state’s technology economy.

Among the honorees were the Biodesign Institute at Arizona State University, recognized for its work in finding new vaccines for infectious diseases, and Tucson-based Medipac LLC, honored in the start-up category for developing patches that deliver drugs in liquid form.

Bob Hagen, chair of the Southern Arizona Technology Council, was named the William F. McWhortor Community Service Leader of the Year for community involvement and excellence in economic development. Hagen has been an active supporter of Tucson’s bioscience industry for many years.

Renee Kaye, who launched a science and engineering fair at Thunderbird High School, was selected as Teacher of the Year.

The Governor’s Celebration of Innovation was established in 2003 by combining the High Tech Industry Cluster’s award ceremony and the Arizona Software and Internet Association’s “Celebration of Innovation.” It is now the premier technology community gathering of its kind in Arizona.

For more information:

Honeywell, ASU institute honored for innovations in ’06,” Arizona Republic, 12/07/2006

Arizona Technology Industry Leaders and Companies Honored at Governor’s Celebration of Innovation Awards Gala,” BIOWIRE, 1/07/2006