Steering Committee

Arizona’s Bioscience Roadmap Steering Committee is comprised of leaders from the public and private sectors in science, health care, business, academia, and policy, and is the leadership group responsible for overseeing Arizona’s Bioscience Roadmap. The group helped to devise the Roadmap in 2002 and contributed to its update in 2014. The committee meets quarterly and sets the key priorities for the Roadmap. In 2018, the committee launched four project teams to advance and accelerate the Arizona ecosystem: entrepreneurship, legislative relations, risk capital, and talent.

In addition, some of the Steering Committee’s main activities include:

  • Stimulating a business environment in Arizona that will lead to growth in the biosciences and the emerging knowledge industry
  • Seeking ways to encourage new and innovative partnerships
  • Enhancing communications by coordinating efforts to raise the visibility of the biosciences in Arizona
  • Taking advantage of opportunities to advance and promote the biosciences to key audiences statewide
  • Staying abreast of major research, business, and policy developments that impact the biosciences in Arizona

Eve Ross

Eve Ross, J.D.

Vice President (Retired)
W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc.

mark Slater_headshot

Mark Slater, Ph.D.

Immediate Past Chair
Vice President for Research

P. David Adelson, M.D., FACS, FAAP

Director, Barrow Neuroscience Institute & Chief, Pediatric Neurosurgery/Children’s Neurosciences
Phoenix Children’s Hospital

Ann-Marie Alameddin

President & CEO
Arizona Hospital and Healthcare Association

John Arnold

Executive Director
Arizona Board of Regents

Denny Barney

President & CEO
East Valley Partnership

Jennifer Kehlet Barton, Ph.D.

BIO5 Institute, University of Arizona

The Honorable Betsey Bayless

President Emeritus
Maricopa Integrated Health System

Ben Beckstead, Ph.D.

Cardiac Category Leader
W.L. Gore & Associates

Martha Brumfield, Ph.D.

Special Advisor
Critical Path Institute

Robert B. Bulla

Former President
Arizona Board of Regents

Shane Burgess, Ph.D., D.V.M.

Vice President and Dean
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
University of Arizona

Tess Burleson

Chief Operating Officer
Translational Genomics Research Institute

Sally Caglioti

Creative Testing Solutions

Chris Camacho

President & CEO
Greater Phoenix Economic Council

The Honorable Cathy Carlat

City of Peoria

The Honorable Heather Carter

Executive Vice President
Greater Phoenix Leadership

Rita Cheng, Ph.D.

Northern Arizona University

Christina Corieri

Senior Policy Advisor to Governor Ducey
Governor’s Office

Dave Dexter

President & CEO
Sonora Quest Laboratories

Debbie Dicarlo

Cancer Support Community Arizona

David Engelthaler, Ph.D.

Director, Programs and Operations
TGen North

Julian Fruhling

Arizona Market Executive
Banterra Bank

Brandy Flores

Alliance Development Manager

The Honorable Kate Gallego

City of Phoenix

Harry George

Co-Founder and Managing Partner
Solstice Capital

Robert S. Green, Esq.

President & CEO
EndoVantage, LLC

Mary Jo Gregory, FACHE, RN

President & CEO
The NARBHA Institute

MaryAnn Guerra

Founder & Chairman of the Board

David J. Gullen, M.D.

Chair, Board of Directors, Flinn Foundation
Community Internal Medicine
Mayo Clinic (retired)

The Honorable Deb Gullett

Executive Director
Arizona Association of Health Plans

Michele Halyard, M.D.

Dean, Arizona Campus
Mayo Clinic School of Medicine

Sharon J. Harper

President & CEO
The Plaza Companies

William C. Harris, Ph.D.

President & CEO
Science Foundation Arizona

The Honorable Kevin Hartke

City of Chandler

The Honorable Daniel Hernandez, Jr.

Arizona House of Representatives

Tom Hornaday

Hornaday Development LLC

Chevy Humphrey

President & CEO
Arizona Science Center

Linda Hunt

President & CEO
Dignity Health Arizona

Diane Jelinek, Ph.D.

Dean of Research
Mayo Clinic

Larry D. Johnson, Jr., D.A.H.

Phoenix College

Tim “T.J.” Johnson

Executive Chairman
HTG Molecular Diagnostics, Inc.

Ron King, Ph.D.

Board Member, Co-Founder

Gretchen Kinsella

Arizona Business Unit Leader
DPR Construction

Joan Koerber-Walker

President & CEO
Arizona BioIndustry Association

David Krietor

Executive Director
Phoenix Biomedical Campus

Joshua LaBaer, M.D., Ph.D.

Executive Director
Biodesign Institute, Arizona State University

Matt Lingard

Marana Site Lead
Bayer Crop Science

Jack W. Lunsford

The Lunsford Group

Richard Mallery, Esq.

Founding Chair & CEO, International Genomics Consortium
Snell & Wilmer, LLP

Libby McDannell

Executive Vice President
Arizona Medical Association

Jon W. McGarity

EthiX Associates

The Honorable Kate Brophy McGee

Arizona State Senate

Jaime A. Molera

Molera Alvarez

Jeffrey D. Morton

Snell & Wilmer

Richard T. Myers

Former Regent
Arizona Board of Regents

Rick Naimark

Associate Vice President of Program Development Planning
Arizona State University

Matthew Nelson

Manager of Research Operations
St. Joseph’s Hospital & Medical Center

Nina Ossanna, Ph.D.

Bioindustry Organization of Southern Arizona

Julie M. Pastrick

President & CEO
Flagstaff Chamber of Commerce

Susan Pepin, M.D.

Managing Director of Health and Clinical Partnerships
Arizona State University – College of Health Solutions

Suzanne Pfister

President & CEO
Vitalyst Health Foundation

Steve Purves

President & CEO
Maricopa Integrated Health System

Guy Reed, M.D.

University of Arizona College of Medicine-Phoenix

Eric Reiman, M.D.

Board of Directors, Flinn Foundation
Chief Executive Officer
Banner Research

Darcy Renfro

Chief of Staff to the Chancellor
Maricopa Community Colleges

Todd Sanders

President & CEO
Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce

Rick Schnellmann, Ph.D.

University of Arizona College of Pharmacy

David Schultz, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research
Northern Arizona University

Tom Schumann

Executive Director
Center for Entrepreneurial Innovation

Ronald E. Shoopman

President (Retired)
Southern Arizona Leadership Council

Martin Shultz

Former Chair
Arizona’s Bioscience Roadmap Steering Committee

Christopher J. Smith, Ph.D.

Vice President/Research Director
Southwest Autism Research & Resource Center

Joseph Snell

President & CEO
Sun Corridor Inc.

Janet Spear

General Manager
Bristol-Myers Squibb

Carol Stewart

Associate Vice President
Tech Parks Arizona

Julia Strange

Vice President, Community Benefit
Tucson Medical Center

Ryan Takeuchi

Former Medical Division Business Leader
W.L. Gore & Associates

Marilyn G. Teplitz

MGT Associates

T. Paul Thomas

Northern Arizona Leadership Alliance

Catherine Todero, Ph.D.

Vice Provost of Health Sciences Campuses
Creighton University

Jeffrey M. Trent, Ph.D.

President & Research Director
Translational Genomics Research Institute

Robert T. Trotter II, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Health Research Initiatives
Northern Arizona University

Victor Waddell, Ph.D.

Executive Director
Arizona Biomedical Research Centre
Arizona Department of Health Services

Eric E. Walk, M.D., FCAP

Senior Vice President, Medical & Scientific Affairs
Chief Medical Officer
Roche Tissue Diagnostics

Sandra Watson

President & CEO
Arizona Commerce Authority

The Honorable Jeff Weninger

Arizona House of Representatives

The Honorable Joe Winfield

Town of Oro Valley

The Honorable Corey Woods

City of Tempe

Raymond L. Woosley, M.D., Ph.D.


Russ Yelton

Yelton & Associates

Steven Zylstra

President & CEO
Arizona Technology Council

Flinn Foundation Bioscience Entrepreneurship Program

Participating on the Steering Committee in 2020-2021:

Mohammad Albanna


Sahil Diwan

SafKan Health

Dr. John Ehteshami

Additive Implants

Rachel Mertensmeyer


Ben Renquist


Ruchir Sehra