Students, teacher honored at Governor’s Celebration of Innovation

December 7, 2007

By hammersmith

Last night, in front of a packed house, the honorees of the annual Governor’s Celebration of Innovation Awards Gala were announced at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, AZ. The ceremony deemed the Academy Awards of Technology recognized Arizona’s top companies, organizations, and individuals for their technological and business achievements. The annual event is hosted by the Arizona Technology Council and the Arizona Department of Commerce.

GCOI Future Innovators

  • Edward Lee, Class of 2008, Hamilton High School. Category: Engineering, Electrical & Mechanical Engineering. Project: A Universal Unique and Efficient Heating & Cooling System for Industrial and Commercial Use: A Mathematically Rigorous Approach.
  • Parker Owan, Class of 2008, Home Schooled. Category: Energy & Transportation, Aerodynamics. Project: Maximizing Wind Power: Considering the Effects of Solidity and Wing Shape on the Performance of a Vertical Axis Wind Turbine.
  • William Guarino, Class of 2007, Salpointe Catholic High School. Category: Engineering, Material Sciences. Project: A Lighter Metal: High Cycle Fatigue Strength of a New AZ91D-F Magnesium/7075-T651 Aluminum Composite.
  • Neil Frazier, Class of 2007, Tucson High School. Category: Cellular & Molecular Biology, Gene. Project: Optimization of Sense-RNAi Efficiency.

Named as Teacher of the Year was Timothy J. Barry, Salpointe Catholic High School.