C-Path chooses new director, members for drug safety consortium

November 20, 2006

By hammersmith

Critical Path Institute (C-Path) has named a director for the Predictive Safety Testing Consortium (PSTC) and announced seven new member institutions.

The consortium pulls together some of the nation’s largest pharmaceutical companies to share laboratory practices in order to predict the safety of new treatments and evaluate methods. FDA scientists participate in the project in an advisory capacity.

Dr. William B. Mattes will serve as both the director of toxicology for C-Path and the director of the PSTC. Mattes most recently served as senior scientific director of toxicogenomics at Gene Logic, where he directed the genomics-based mechanism-of-toxicity program.

The new PSTC member institutions are Abbot, Amgen Inc., AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals Inc., Iconix Biosciences Inc., Eli Lilly and Co., and Sanofi-Aventis U.S. Inc.

The consortium’s original members are Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., GlaxoSmithKline, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development LLC, Merck and Co. Inc., Novartis Pharmaceutical Corporation, Pfizer Inc., Roche Palo Alto LLC, and Schering Plough Research Institute, a division of Schering Corporation.

For more information:

Critical Path Institute