39 Flinn Scholarship Finalists move on to last stage

January 31, 2023

By brianpowell

Nearly 40 Arizona high-school seniors will interview in March for a chance to be named a Class of 2023 Flinn Scholar.

The 39 Flinn Scholarship Finalists, who represent 35 traditional public, charter, and private high schools from six Arizona counties, were selected from about 80 Semifinalists who interviewed earlier this month.

The four high schools with two Finalists each are Basha High School of Chandler, BASIS Tucson North, Campo Verde High School of Gilbert, and Hamilton High School of Chandler.

The Flinn Scholarship, a merit-based award given by the Phoenix-based Flinn Foundation since 1986, includes funding for tuition, housing, meals, and study abroad at an Arizona public university—a value of more than $130,000. 

Twenty Arizona high-school seniors are selected each year as Flinn Scholars and attend the Honors colleges of Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Arizona.  

The Flinn Scholars Class of 2023 will be announced in April.

“We started with nearly 1,050 applications from students who excel in the classroom and as leaders on campus and in the community. These 39 rose to the top, and I know our Selection Committee will be challenged to select just 20 students to become our next class of Flinn Scholars,” said Anne Lassen, Flinn Foundation vice president, scholarship and education initiatives. “We look forward to getting to know our Flinn Scholarship Finalists more and having them learn about the opportunities that could await them at Arizona’s outstanding public universities.”

The Class of 2023 Flinn Scholarship Finalists, including high school and city of residence, are:

Baraa Abdelghne, Saguaro High School, Scottsdale

Irais Aguilar Coconi, Trevor Browne High School, Glendale

Tori Barrera, Campo Verde High School, Gilbert

Cameron Bautista, Basha High School, Gilbert

Sam Benavidez, North Phoenix Preparatory Academy, Scottsdale

Riley Biter, Poston Butte High School, San Tan Valley

Joshua Bunnell, Youngker High School, Buckeye

Carol Chen, Hamilton High School, Gilbert

Richa Chirravuri, Hamilton High School, Chandler

Ariana Delgadillo, Bioscience High School, Phoenix

Efren Figueroa, San Luis High School, San Luis

Marshall Frank, Bradshaw Mountain High School, Prescott

Elizabeth Ghartey, BASIS Mesa, Gilbert

Matthew Gibson, Desert View High School, Tucson

Natali Giron Terrazas, Maryvale High School, Glendale

Samuel Gonzalez, Pueblo High Magnet School, Tucson

Evan Hankinson, Campo Verde High School, Gilbert

Quinlan Harris, Red Mountain High School, Mesa

Makayla Johnson, Marcos De Niza High School, Tempe

Fatem Kadhem, Valley Vista High School, El Mirage

Aidan Lin, Brophy College Preparatory, Scottsdale

Sofia Llanos, Basha High School, Chandler

Zack Okun, Desert Mountain High School, Scottsdale

Nagasriya Ramisetty, BASIS Peoria, Phoenix

Taylor Raney, Mountain Ridge High School, Glendale

Maza Reyes, Arizona School For The Arts, Phoenix

Michael-Anthony Rodriguez, Santa Cruz Valley Union High School, Eloy

Steven Rourick, Shadow Mountain High School, Phoenix

Jude Saarenas, St. John Paul II Catholic High School, Phoenix

Gia Saggar, Paradise Valley High School, Paradise Valley

Amy Senkerik, Ironwood Ridge High School, Tucson

Nathan Taylor, Superior Senior High School, Superior

Madeline Trilling, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff

Abi Urbina-Bernal, Sunrise Mountain High School, Litchfield Park

Xitlali Vazquez, Greenway High School, Phoenix

Andrew Wei, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

Kaylee Woods, Cibola High School, Yuma

Wenli Xu, BASIS Tucson North, Tucson

North Zhang, University High School, Tucson